Alberni Valley Chamber of Commerce

2021 Annual General Meeting and Election of Officers Minutes

May 26, 2021 Via ZOOM

1. Call to Order: Terry Deakin called the meeting to order at 11:30am

2. Meeting Agenda:

Peter Wienold moved to adopt the agenda. Michael Moore seconded the motion. Motion Carried.

3. 2020 AGM Meeting Minutes:

Michael Moore moved to adopt previous annual general meeting minutes. Carol Anne Phillips seconded the motion. Motion Carried.

4. **President's Report**: Sarah Jones N/A – sick leave- Terry Deakin to provide general report on behalf of the President.

Dan Savard moved to accept report from Terry Deakin, in Sarah's place. Carol Anne Phillips seconded the motion. Motion Carried.

CEO's Report: Bill Collette spoke of the many successes during 2020 even with the challenges faced by all. He made reference to several key points including the Better Buy Port Alberni website along with two other new websites developed over the past year. McLean Mill and the Visitor Centre site He reminded all about the generosity of local businesses who purchased more than \$20,000 dollars in local gift cards through the BBPA site for their staff as gifts, through an employer/employee program created. Overall, a good solid year for the Chamber.

Michael Moore moved to approve the CEO report. Peter Wienold seconded the motion. Motion Carried.

7. Auditor's Report: Rob Anderson presented the financial audit. He commented that the Chamber is

in good financial health and that the audit was good and clean.

Dan Savard moved to accept the auditor's report. Carol Anne Phillips seconded the motion. Motion Carried.

Peter Wienold moved to appoint R. Anderson and Associates as AVCOC's auditor for 2021. Michael Moore seconded the motion. Motion Carried.

8. Terry Deakin introduced Her Worship, Mayor Sharie Minions

Mayor Minions spoke very positively on how well Port Alberni has done during the pandemic, with all the restrictions etc... She is also a restaurant owner, so she spoke of her excitement that indoor dining is allowed again. That will be huge for our local eateries.

8. Recognition of Outgoing and Appointed Directors:

Thank you to outgoing PRESIDENT, Sarah Jones, VP Carol-Anne Phillips, 2nd VP Terry Deakin, Secretary Peter Wienold, & Treasurer Dave Heinrichs. Outgoing Directors included: Gail Horvath, Dan Savard, Crystal Knudsen, Suzanne Dube, Krista McKitrick, Teresa Bird, Michael Moore & Lori Kerr

9. Election of Executive Members and Directors. Peter Wienold ran the Election of the Executive

All nominees were voted in by acclamation.

President – Terry Deakin (INEO Employment)

VP – Suzanne Dube (Edward Jones)

2nd VP – Dan Savard (Swept Away Inn)

Treasurer – Michael Moore (IT Specialist)

Secretary – Krista McKitrick (Belle's Hair Care)

Deb Haggard ran the Election for the 8 Director Positions; all of which were voted in by acclamation.

Director: Mary-Clare Massicotte (MCM Facilitation & Training)

Director: Peter Wienold (Graphics Factory)

Director: Teresa Bird (Publisher – AV News)

Director: Murray Lawlor (Retired – former owner Coombs Country Candy)

Director: Crystal Knudsen (Branch Manager – Scotiabank)

Director: Lori Kerr (Coastal Community Credit Union)

Director: Dave Heinrichs (Alberni District Co-op)

Director: Carol-Anne Phillips (Steampunk Café)

10. Oath of Office was conducted by Deb Haggard.

Carol Anne Phillips moved to adjourn the meeting at 12:30 pm. Michael Moore seconded the motion. Motion Carried.