Alberni Valley Chamber of Commerce 2018 Annual General Meeting and Election of Officers Minutes

May 23, 2018, at Chances Rim Rock Gaming Centre

1. **Call to Order**: Brad Minton called the meeting to order at 12:08 PM.

2. Meeting Agenda:

Ellen Frood moved to adopt the agenda. Dan Savard seconded the motion. Motion Carried.

3. **2017 AGM Meeting Minutes**:

Sarah Jones moved to adopt previous annual general meeting minutes dated May 24, 2017. Bill Brown seconded the motion. Motion Carried.

- 4. **Tom Sigurdson from BC Building Trades Council** gave a presentation about Community Benefit Agreements. T. Sigurdson said the agreements would ensure women and indigenous people are represented in apprenticeship programs in building trades.
- 5. **President's Report**: Brad Minton encouraged meeting participants to be positive and inspired about business in Alberni Valley. He also noted that the AVCOC has a solid foundation, and engaged executive director.

Executive Director's Report: Bill Collette presented a slide show on various accomplishments throughout the year.

Jan Lavertu moved to approve the president's and executive director's repors.. Bill Brown seconded the motion. Motion Carried.

6. **Auditor's Report**: Rob Anderson presented the financial audit. He commented that the Chamber is in good financial health and that the audit was well within satisfactory levels.

Sarah Jones moved to accept the auditor's report. Jan Lavertu seconded the motion. Motion Carried.

Kevin Wright moved to appoint R. Anderson and Associates as AVCOC's auditor for 2018. Sarah Jones seconded the motion. Motion Carried.

7. Constitution and Bylaw Amendments:

Ellen Frood moved to accept the amendments to the constitution as presented to meeting participants. Jan Lavertu seconded the motion. Motion Carried. (see attached copy).

- 8. **Recognition of Outgoing and Appointed Directors:** Brad Minton thanked outgoing board members: Deb Haggard, Kris Patterson, Sarah Jones, Brian Callendar, Malcolm Menninga, and Dan Savard (missed Taurean Seib).
- 9. **Election of Executive Members and Directors**. Sharie Minions conducted the elections. Candidates were invited to do a 2 minute introduction. A call for nominations from the floor was made for each executive and director position. Election results were as follows:

President: Dave McCormick

First Vice-President: Deb Haggard (voted in by acclamation)
Second Vice-President: Ross Hawse (voted in by acclamation)
Treasurer: Taurean Seib (voted in by acclamation)
Secretary: Nicole Mitchell (voted in by acclamation)

Director: Paul Anacleto (2 year position)
Director: Dave Heinrichs (2 year position)
Director: Daniel Savard (2 year position)
Director: Sarah Jones (2 year position)

Director: Peter Weinold (1 year position)

Jan Lavertu moved to destroy all ballots. Kevin Wright seconded the motion. Motion Carried.

- 10. Oath of Office was conducted by Sharie Minions.
- 11. Kevin Wright moved to adjourn the meeting at 2:01 pm